menu
Daily Bits Email

The email you entered is already receiving Daily Bits Emails!

ORPALIS PDF Reducer Professional EditionDiscount

ORPALIS PDF Reducer Professional Edition

Reduce the File Size of PDF Documents

$199
v3 for PC  Download Trial
Platforms: Windows XP, Vista, 7, 8
ORPALIS PDF Reducer Professional Edition Screenshot

Use ORPALIS PDF Reducer to select either individual files or entire folders to minimize the size of your PDFs and images. Make web publishing of PDFs a snap allowing fast web view or just save time when sending them via internet.

ORPALIS PDF Reducer is a super fast and powerful PDF compression Software for general public and developers meant to help anyone to get existing PDF files reduced up to 80% more than concurrent products. To achieve that, ORPALIS PDF Reducer provides different innovative and highly sophisticated size-reducing techniques which can be optionally applied by user selection.

The Conversation
Features
The Fine Print
Testimonials
Expand All Email Updates Load 1 Older Comment
Avi S This software package looks excellent. I've downloaded the trial and played around with it a bit. I'm impressed that they use JBIG2 compression for monochrome images. Compare this to Apago's PDFShrink, which only has FLATE and CCITT for monochrome images. This difference is significant. In a few tests I did on monochrome documents scanned at 600dpi, reducing them to 300dpi, I found that Apago was only able to get it down to about 40% of the filesize, while Orpalis brought it down to 30% or less.

However, I have a couple of questions/comments for Orpalis:

1] The options dialog has a choice for Image Quality (low, medium, high, very high). However, at least with my monochrome documents, I find that this setting has absolutely no impact on the resulting file - no matter what I choose, the file size is the same. Does this setting not affect JBIG2 compression? And if not, how can users to configure the lossiness of the JBIG2 algorithm?

2] I notice that when it comes to outputting the resulting files, Orpalis overwrites any existing files by the same name. This seems like poor and dangerous behavior, and at the least there should be an option to prevent it (For comparison, in such cases Apago's product renames its files by adding a suffix of -1, -2, etc. That seems to me to be a more satisfactory way of dealing with that situation.)
Nov 18 2013 at 4:22pm Copy Link
0
yabatopia Avis S, thank you for the comparison between Orpalis PDF Reducer and Apago PDFShrink. It's really helpful. But it's also worth mentioning that PDFShrink costs only $35 versus $199 for Orpalis PDF Reducer. Orpalis PDF Reducer looks a bit too expensive to me, I think it's just cheaper to buy an extra hard drive.
Nov 19 2013 at 2:39am Copy Link
0
Avi S @yabatopia - I've continued my comparison between Apago and Orpalis, and I've found that Orpalis has quite a few significant advantages which, I believe, may well justify the price. I would still like to hear back from them about the issues I raised above, but in the meantime here are the list of the advantages I've found in Orpalis over Apago:

1] utilizes multiple processors to speed processing

2] command line support

3] much better dialog for folder selection (apago uses the standard mouse-only dialog)

4] exact choice of dpi (apago is very limiting - can only choose 150, 200, 300, etc., and for color/greyscale, apago has a maximum of 200. Orpalis allows setting the dpi precisely. for instance, I find that 250 is a good setting for my files, but in apago I can only choose 200 or 300. In Orpalis I can use 250).

5] as noted above - Orpalis has JBIG2 support resulting in much smaller monochrome files.

Advantages of Apago over Orpalis:
1] allows user to decide on exact jpg compression quality (orpalis provides choice of 4 levels - low, medium, high, and verhigh, while apago allows setting it anywhere between 0 and 100).
2] Apago doesn't overwrite existing files, but rather renames the new files as necessary.
Nov 19 2013 at 3:05am Copy Link
0
Coralie Carlier Hello everyone!

Welcome to the first promotion of ORPALIS PDF Reducer Pro!

Thank you Avi S and yabatopia for being the first to comment!

@Avis S, thank you very much for you detailed review.
Like our other products (like paperScan) we try to implement fetures on demand. So there is something we could do about the overwriting of existing files.

Regarding the question 1 (1] The options dialog has a choice for Image Quality (low, medium, high, very high). However, at least with my monochrome documents, I find that this setting has absolutely no impact on the resulting file - no matter what I choose, the file size is the same. Does this setting not affect JBIG2 compression? And if not, how can users to configure the lossiness of the JBIG2 algorithm?) I'm passing it to our technical team so they can look into it. Meanwhile, do not hesitate if you have any other question.

Elodie
ORPALIS - Nov 19 2013 at 4:25am Copy Link
0
Andrew Tsai From reading the features, which mainly is to reduce PDF size, I really find the price unreasonable. I have a giveaway from another site before, Fileminimizer Suite, had more functions that just reducing the size of PDF file, but also Office files (Word, Powerpoint, Excel), and image file, reducing it to as much as 98% without noticeable degradation of quality, and their selling price is even much lower than this. They have another software called Fileminimizer PDF, mainly for reducing PDF sizes, and the price is even much much much lower than this. I wonder what special feature the developer can give us to justify such a price. Even with 50% discount, the price is still too steep.
Nov 19 2013 at 5:20am Copy Link
0
Rick F I'm with yabatopia and Andrew Tsai. If this software were selling for $40, it would be in competition with the others. It is just too rich for my blood.
Nov 19 2013 at 5:44am Copy Link
0
Coralie Carlier Hi Andrew and Rick,

Thank you for your feedback!

I just wanted to let you know that we have a free version of ORPALIS PDF Reducer available here: http://www.orpalis.com/pr...r-free.php

The Pro edition also targets companies and organizations which have needs to share and save lots of PDF files. The unlimited batch processing and the use in command lines are suited for the automated processing of large volumes of documents. This professional use also explains the price.
ORPALIS - Nov 19 2013 at 6:06am Copy Link
0
DrTeeth Got something similar here at 100% off. I don't use it very much as my PDFs are not that big enough to worry about their size. Maybe this offer is aiming for the corporate market with its corporate pricing.
Nov 19 2013 at 1:57pm Copy Link
0
Coralie Carlier Hi DrTeeth,

Thanks for your comment! PDF Reducer is convenient for small and large companies dealing with lots of PDFs but it's also suitable for a personal use for sending big reports via email or to display them on a website (Fast Web View option) for example.

The promotion is now over, thank you all for your participation and see you next time!

Meanwhile you can contact us on our forum if you have any question: http://forums.orpalis.com/

A bientôt,

Elodie
ORPALIS - Nov 20 2013 at 1:33am Copy Link
0

On BitsDuJour Today

IDMB Project Assistant (Mac & PC) Discount
Mac & PC
IDMB Project Assistant
Manage Your Projects More Effectively
100

PDF Utilities Deals

Print Multiple PDF Files (PC) Discount
for PC
Print Multiple PDF Files
Batch-Print Your PDFs!
Nitro Pro 7 (PC) Discount
for PC
Nitro Pro 7
The Ultimate PDF Software!
PDF & eBook 8 Tools Bundle (Mac & PC) Discount
Mac & PC
PDF & eBook 8 Tools Bundle
Convert PDF Files and Make Your Own ePub Books
90
3StepPDF (PC) Discount
for PC
3StepPDF
Create, Extract, Merge, and Watermark PDF Documents
50
Nitro Pro (PC) Discount
for PC
Nitro Pro
The Perfect PDF Management Solution
20
Like BitsDuJour on Facebook
BitsDuJour is for People who Love Software
Every day we review great Mac & PC apps, and get you discounts up to 100%
© Copyright 2018 BitsDuJour LLC. Code & Design. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy